Aside from the glitz and glamour of your special day there is some less shiny work that needs to be done. One of these tasks is obtaining your marriage license.
Here are a few things Connecticut brides need to know about this vital part of your big day.Â Connecticut law requires that you present photo id such as a driver’s license or a passport. You also need to know the following:
- Your social security numbers
- Your mother’s maiden name.
- Your parents’ birthplaces.
- Date and location of your wedding.
- Name and contact info of your wedding officiant.
You do not have to be a resident of Connecticut, but you do need to apply in either the town where one of you lives, or in the town where you plan on getting married. If it is difficult for you both to appear at the same time at the Clerk’s office to apply for your marriage license, you can appear individually.
It costs between $30 and $35 dollars to get your marriage license, and cash is the best way to pay. There is no official waiting period but certain areas may request that you wait a day before picking up.
Be sure to contact your town clerk before you go to get your marriage license to make sure this information is up to date, as it is constantly changing. We hope this little guide has made a mandatory step of getting hitched a little easier.
Are any of our brides getting this close to their special day?