Since youâ€™re reading this article, itâ€™s likely safe to assume youâ€™ve already achieved the most critical criteria to get married in CT: choosing your future spouse!
Most talk of wedding planning centers on the special day itself, from the flowers to music to the dress. In the flurry of activity and excitement itâ€™s important to remember that marriage is a legal contract as well, and every state has its own laws regarding what is required to attain it.
In Connecticut, both parties must appear in person at a local vital records office to apply for a marriage license. Every town hall in the state can provide this service, and proof of residency is not required. You do, however, either need to apply in either the town where youâ€™re getting married or the town in which one of you currently resides.
When you apply both will need to provide proof of identity and age, so be sure to have photo identification such as your driverâ€™s license or passport on hand. If either partner has previously been married, also bring a copy of the certified document that declares the end of the marriage.
Needle-phobes will be relieved to know that CT stopped requiring marital blood tests back in 2003. There is also no waiting period for a marriage license, and they are valid for 65 days preceding the big event.
The price varies from county to country, but Connecticut marriage licenses average between $30-35. Most offices do not accept out-of-state checks, and many also shun credit cards. Itâ€™s highly recommended you show up with cash in hand.
After your marriage takes place, your officiant will submit the license to the registrar of vital records in the town where the ceremony occurred. Once itâ€™s registered, your marriage license becomes a marriage certificate and you are official!